December Race: Prance for Precious 5K

After the first weekend, there were very few races showing up on my normal race website haunts.  I finally found the Prance for Precious 5K a few days before it was scheduled.

There were only a few dozen people there, so it wasn’t too crowded.  I didn’t see any of the regulars I have come to recognize in passing at events in the area, as they had probably attended the 5K the weekend before.  Overall, it was decently organized and there was one water stop along the way (typical for the 5Ks I have run).

A slight confession… I had only run 3 times (total of 13 miles) between the marathon and this 5K.  Luckily, I still had a fair amount of fitness carry-over in the month between the two runs.  So, how did I do on the last race?

Not a personal record, but still pretty good!

Not a personal record, but still pretty good!

2nd place in my age group!

2nd place in my age group!

I placed 2nd in my age group!  Granted, there were not very many runners in attendance. There were many age groups that didn’t even have many people running.  However, I believe I also placed 15th overall.  I finished in 28:02, not too bad for someone who has only been running for about a year.  Especially since I haven’t been training for speed over this distance.  I’m pretty pleased with the last race of the year, I’ll do a summary of all the races in a post soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise, Fitness, Weekly Update

Leave a Reply

