Behind the name

The original intent of this blog was to talk about this and that, but a fair amount about my health and fitness goals, routines, and things I had learned.  There are several people I follow on twitter, in blogs, and on fitocracy that talk a great deal about nutrition, health, and fitness.  Really, what can I say that more qualified and learned people are not already stating?

That’s what I tell myself.  The real reason I don’t talk about my exercises and health goals is because I am a bit shy about that kind of stuff.  I should have realized this about myself before I named my blog “All The Exercises!”  My lack of fitness posting might give people the idea that I don’t exercise, and that I must have meant to name this blog “All The Food!”  But I do workout!  I post my workouts on fitocracy and have for about a year now.  I really like that I can see my progress over time; be still my nerdy heart, they have graphs!

In preparation for my half and full marathons, I was running 4-5 days a week and would also try to make it to the gym once or twice.  Since the marathon is over, I am still planning to run 3-4 times a week but I really want to up my weight lifting.  I plan to run 5-10 mile runs, but I will be going to the gym in the mornings to lift weights.  While training for the marathon, my lifts went down a bit and frequency dropped a lot.  I also didn’t really follow any plan, so that probably didn’t help my lifting progress.

I am, hopefully, getting a strength training book for Christmas, which will set me on a program for picking up heavy things and putting them back down.  I am going to post some of my exercises on here as a sort of accountability.  Hopefully, getting to put down days that I have great workouts and having to put down days that I make excuses for not working out will get me going to the gym.  I am thinking that once a week or so I’ll post a summary of how my week went, all the good and the bad.  These are probably going to be little quickie posts with a little commentary if something specific happens.  Here’s hoping I can make a habit of it.

My kind of workout!

My kind of workout!

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise, Fitness, Pictures

Leave a Reply

