Portland Restaurants: Milo’s City Cafe

Milo’s City Cafe is a cute little restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  It is located about .7 mi (15 minute walk) from the Crowne Plaza Hotel and 1 mi (20 minute walk) from the Oregon Convention Center.  The restaurant is more simply and cleanly decorated, rather than interesting and quirky.  The service staff was quick and friendly, I didn’t have to wait to be seated and my food arrived shortly after I ordered it.

I ordered the Nathan’s breakfast BLT; sourdough bread, fried egg, lettuce, tomato, and pepper bacon.  For my taste, it would have done well with some sort of sauce/condiment on it, as it was a bit dry.  The table provided some hot sauce, so that helped out a bit.  The egg was cooked just how I like my eggs, a little runny in the center but not enough to make a mess all over my hands.  The bread was nice and toasted and the veggies were fresh and crisp.  Even the tomato was good, not mealy as the sandwich tomatoes can be at times.  The prices were comparable to other independent cafes, the sandwich was about $8.

Overall, I would recommend a visit to Milo’s City Cafe.  From other reviews online, they can be very busy at typical meal times and on weekends, so be prepared for a wait if you go there for Saturday brunch.

I have one more restaurant to review and then this little mini-arc is over.  The next one is something different!

Oh look!  A random picture!

Juvenile Coachwhip (Masticophis flagellum)

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure, Food, Pictures

Leave a Reply

