Portland Restaurants: Burgerville

Burgerville is a small-ish fast food chain in the Portland area.  It is .1 mi (3 minute walk) from the Oregon Convention Center and about .2 mi (4 minute walk) from the Crowne Plaza Hotel.  I had hoped to not visit chain restaurants on this trip but, as this was a chain that was most definitely not one that I would not encounter on the east coast, I decided to check it out.  It had a decent restaurant interior and the staff were friendly.  I was most impressed by their trash and recycling system.  The directed their customers to sort their trash by type for either:  compost (food waste, paper, corn-based containers), recycling (non-corn based plastics and paper), or trash (certain cups, lids, and condiment containers).  I found this, as well as their local and sustainable food sources, pretty forward-thinking and worth paying just a little bit more.

I decided to try out the spicy anasazi burger, a vegetarian burger with a black bean patty, pepperjack cheese, chipotle mayonnaise, lettuce, tomato, and a sesame seed bun.  It was quite good for a fast food burger!  It was one of the restaurants that I considered visiting more than once, but I decided that there many more places to visit for the brief time I was in Portland.  I would definitely recommend visiting Burgerville if you are in the area.

Pink shrimp (Farfantepenaeus duorarum)

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure, Food, Pictures

Leave a Reply

