Portland Restaurants: J & M Café

J & M Café is about .6 mi (10 minute walk) from the Oregon Convention Center and 1 mi (20 minute walk) from the Crowne Plaza Hotel.  It was a quaint little café that seemed to be serving locals and as such may not be on the radar for your typical tourist.  As with most cafés, it only has 2 and 4 person tables and so probably wouldn’t be a place that I would easily recommend for large groups and families.  If there are eight of you wanting to go out for breakfast and must sit together, there is a Denny’s not a mile away.  The food won’t compare, but what can you do?
I had intended to go for lunch, but it was a Sunday and they were serving breakfast until 2pm.  Good thing I could eat breakfast for every meal and still want it the next morning.  I ordered the French toast, five slices of baguette cut on a bias, with fresh seasonal boysenberries and blueberries and real maple syrup.  Sounds yummy, right?  After consuming two of the slices and heartily working my way through the third, I noticed an issue with my meal which required sending back.  I’m not sure that I’ve ever sent my meal back before, so I felt a bit bad doing so.  They remade my three remaining slices of French toast, but I think they were either a bit embarrassed or rushed to do so and they came back a little under-done in the middle.  I decided to not bother them again about the meal and trust that I probably wouldn’t be taken out by some French toast.
The prices are comparable to other locally owned cafés that I’ve been to, though they didn’t give me a bill due to the issue with my meal. I’d like to say that I would go back, and I probably would give them another chance if I lived here, but I didn’t go back to the café on this trip.

No camera in Portland, but here is an unrelated picture!

Little Blue Heron (Egretta caerulea) from a trip on the Suwannee

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure, Food, Pictures

Leave a Reply

