Portland Restaurants: Hungry Tiger Too

The Hungry Tiger Too is a café that has a normal menu and also a nice vegetarian and vegan menu.  The restaurant is about .9 mi (20 minute walk) from the conference center and 1.3 mi (25 minute walk) from the Crowne Plaza Hotel.  After much decision I ordered the Hawaiian vegan burger and a side salad.  My meal arrived pretty quickly and was as delicious as it was attractive!  The “meat” was a Boca burger and the “cheddar cheese” was a brand called daiya cheese, makers of vegan “cheese” and more yummy than you might think. Also on the burger was grilled pineapple, teriyaki sauce, and the standard hamburger veg. This had to be one of the best hamburgers that I’ve ever had. The flavors blended together so well and the burger was juicy without soaking the bread and creating a mess. The side salad was a mix of baby greens, croutons, and dressing (I chose balsamic vinaigrette). Everything was excellent!
The restaurant was rather small, a trend in downtown restaurants. About a third of the tables were occupied and service was rather quick. The menu was split between their standard menu and their vegan menu, with different colored and oriented sheets. The atmosphere was kind of punk and interesting without being obnoxious. The cost was comparable to other independent cafés I’ve been to.
Overall I really enjoyed the experience and would definitely recommend visiting! I mentioned this restaurant to a fellow conference attendee, she ordered the vegan meatloaf and really liked it, so two votes for this place.

Hey, a picture!

Taken on my cell phone and the only picture I could get. My cell phone chooses to corrupt most of my pictures 😦 However, this was the best vegan burger I’ve ever had!

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure, Food, Pictures

Leave a Reply

