Week 4: Festival Fail… again… sort of

Beware, this one is a bit long… If you don’t have the time

tl;dr – Had party, no festivals, water is not my friend

Long Version:

It pains me to say that I missed another festival weekend.  So, let me explain.

We had a house-warming party.  Though to say it was just a house-warming party would be slightly incorrect.  We rolled three birthdays, a welcome home, and a house-warming party all into one evening.  This resulted in a lot of people and food into one place at one time.  Not the largest party I’ve been to, considering my family’s Christmas events, but the largest one I’ve had to prepare for directly.  We were expecting about 20 people, so in the days before the event was to take place we spent time cleaning and planning what we wanted to cook.

So of course, 11 pm the night before the party, the guest bathroom floods.  It seems that when you decide to clean the area behind the sink faucets, you should first look in the under-sink cabinet to see if the supply line is only held on by an industrial-esque bobby pin.  I wiped behind the handles and one fell off.  I put it back on and heard something metallic when I turned the handle but didn’t hear anything else.  I finished wiping down the counter and moved on to the next bathroom.  About five minutes later, I made my way back through the house and heard a low hissing.  Then I saw water.  FYI, the shower in this particular bathroom is almost completely stopped up.  I had to wring our the towels and mop in the toilet.  Oh, and Lowes is not open at 11:30 pm.  The guy and I are figuring out a new faucet for the guest bathroom.

Other than not being able to offer multiple sinks for hand washing, and accidentally dumping a half of pitcher of water on myself, a guest, and the floor, the party went well.  I do wish that there had not been so many desserts left over!  I hate wasting food, but I can’t eat two partial cakes, multiple kinds of cookies, and brownies all by myself!

A couple of the guests I invited were from a few hours away, and so stayed the night.  We did what all 20-some year-old kids do the next morning: watched public domain cautionary films and youtube videos and then went for a run!   We didn’t end up getting out for the run until after 11 am due to rain and they stayed for a late lunch.  They went back home around 5 pm and by then the festivals were wrapping up.  No festival this weekend.

Next Weekend: Warrior Dash!  A race and festival/party in one!

Leave a comment

Filed under Weekly Update

Leave a Reply

